A Layman’s Guide

And God hath set some in the church, first apostles, secondarily prophets, thirdly teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, governments (greek= kubernesis), diversities of tongues.” –  1 Corinthians 12:28

This is my personal journey of discovering how I function supernaturally in the Gift of Governments (Kubernesis). I have no biblical training, just access to a bible and instruction from the Holy Spirit. This makes my journey heavily experiential, often bumpy, and unfinished (I’m still learning).

I’ve learned many mysteries and made some spectacular mistakes.  Hopefully through reading my notes you might glean some tips that help you and others develop this amazing gift.

After studying available information I could find on the topic of this gift, I drew the conclusion that there is very little good instructional material, as well as many contradictory ideas about the gift. I’ll try to present some common misconceptions and what this gift is assumed to be.

I hope to help two audiences with these notes. The first audience is the precious person who suspects they operate in this amazing and sometime terrifying gift and are looking for help to learn and refine their effectiveness when operating in the gift. The second important group is the pastors, church leaders and elders who may encounter someone in their group operating in this gift and these leaders may struggle to maximise the benefit of this gift to their ministry without understanding some principles we find in scripture.

By way of a brief introduction, I converted to Christianity about 25 years ago. In that time I learned that I operate in several supernatural gifts. Very early in my walk, within the first 12 months I learned I had the gift of “exhortation”. After about 10 years I learned that I operated in the supernatural gift of “teaching”, and after about 18 years as a believer it dawned on me that I operate in the Gift of Governments (Kubernesis).

Reflection:

  • When did you realise you operate in the Gift of Governments ? Who did you talk to ? How did you test, learn and develop the gift ?

 

